I Love/Don’t Love Christmas…You?

This post has little or nothing to do with leadership but in the spirit of the season, I thought I might republish it, just for fun. Happy holidays everyone!

When I  began this,  I was coming at the Christmas season with a very bah humbug attitude.  The wet weather and the winter darkness tend to push my cynical buttons and before I know it,  I’m grumbling like an old grampus and complaining about all that I have yet to do.  This seems to happen every year.  And every year I come to a point when something in my head says,Snap out of it!!.

For me though, Christmas is definitely an ambivalent, time.  On the one hand, it  strikes me as an “over the top” experience.   People somehow feel obligated to be “happy” even when they don’t feel like it or have little reason to be .   We eat and drink too much; spend too much money; celebrate for its own sake and then; we have to cope with the barrenness of  January.  For me, while all this is going on, there is also that little voice  inside saying something like , If anything bad is going to happen, please don’t let it be at Christmas.

And yet.

There is definitely something in the air at Christmastime that doesn’t exist at any other time of the year.  It’s a kind of magnetic force that pulls me in and gives me cause to pause; to be  grateful for all that is good about life.  At Christmas, people are more generous and more empathetic.  And just maybe, the closer we get to it, the closer we come to giving ourselves the opportunity to take a break from our daily angst and simply be glad.  It’s hard not to love that.

So, to continue with this love/hate theme,  here are a few things that I love and a few things that I don’t love about Christmas

Christmas movies

I Love Dickens’ A Christmas Carol. I am partial to the version starring Alistair Sim.  He made a great Scrooge and each time I view the movie I look forward, with great anticipation, to the part near the end where he says, ” I must stand on my head!!” Check it out here. It is a moment of pure joy and one that makes me laugh every single time.

I Don’t Love “It’s a Wonderful Life”. ( I can just feel the presence of someone ready to pounce in indignation).  To me, this movie is not only depressing but annoying as well.    Before we come to the part where George finally realizes that he has a great life , we have to drag ourselves through the rest of the movie witnessing all the things that cause him to be disappointed, resentful and well, just bloody miserable.  And all I want to say to him throughout the piece is Snap out of it!!

Christmas Songs

I Love a lot of the more traditional Christmas songs which makes it  hard to pick a favourite song but the contemporary Christmas song that comes to mind first is  John Lennon‘s Happy Christmas (War is Over) .   I like it because it reminds me of the fragility of human relationships and the need to cherish them.  It also reminds me that Christmas is often one of the best times to do that.   This song is for blessing-counters all,  and possibly for taking that ever important inventory of the moral  balance sheet.  And, (noble sweeping statements aside),  I think it is a clever song. Period.

I Don’t Love John Denver’s, Please Daddy Don’t Get Drunk this Christmas.This song has no redeeming features whatsoever except to remind us that in spite of the time of year, there is still a lot of pain in a lot of  households.  I heard this song many years ago and must admit that, at the time,  it sounded so ludicrous  I laughed.  Now, in my perhaps more mature (okay, old) psyche I simply find it offensive.  What makes it even more annoying is that  it is one of those songs that sticks in your head and simply won’t let go.

Christmas Food

Okay so there’s not much about the gastronomy of Christmas that I don’t love.  The usual suspects that grace most peoples’ tables on Christmas Day are my favourites too… not very adventurous, but there it is.  The best thing about Christmas food comes on Boxing Day, when the leftovers come out of the fridge and are unceremoniously nuked for a dinner requiring little work and not much clean up. Yum.

My favourite Christmas food?  English Trifle.  Check out a recipe here Love the stuff.  Hope you do too.

I Don’t Love Christmas Pudding.  Yuck.  Just Yuck.  But if you like it, here’s a recipe for that too. And may the force be with you.

and finally,

Christmas Pastimes

In Vancouver, if we are lucky enough to have snow at Christmas, there is something magical about going for a walk at night and looking at the Christmas lights in the neighbourhood.  Some people do a beautiful job of decorating their homes.  And when the air outside is crisp, clear and still, I am reminded of just how lucky I am to be here.

The best part about Christmas though, is spending time with people I care about, especially when there are children about.  My granddaughter is four years old and I expect that Santa has become a prominent figure for her about now.  I love a house that includes Santa…and a little girl with eyes full of wonder and excitement.  That is what  brings the spirit of Christmas alive and reminds me that no matter what else it represents, Christmas is about love.

I Don’t Love: Putting Christmas away for another year.  And oh yes, those Christmas lights that I so adore on Christmas Eve?  Well, they start to get on my nerves if they’re still there in the Spring

What about you?  What do you love about this time of year?  What could you do without?  What would you change if you could?

2 Comments

Filed under Building Relationships, communication, Self Knowledge

2 responses to “I Love/Don’t Love Christmas…You?

  1. Excellent read here!

    One of the things that I love most about Christmas is getting the chance to get back to basics and spend time with friends and family. It’s so easy to get wrapped up in the daily hustle of things, but spending time with family is really something I look forward to every holiday season and cherish.

    And the cookies too! ;o)

  2. Gwyn Teatro

    Hi Forrest!

    Yes, when all is said and done, Christmas gives us that opportunity to breathe out and spend time with people who are important to us.

    Cookies huh? I’m more of a chocolate person myself 🙂

    Merry Christmas and enjoy your “time out”

Leave a Reply

